This is a simple guide on how to turn off Frequent Locations on iPhone.
Did you know your iPhone track and record everywhere you go?
A feature called “Significant Locations” introduced in iOS 7 tracks, records, and stores frequent places you visit and even how long you’ve been there.
While Apple says it’s helpful to provide better location-based data and suggestions, some people may find it creepy (including myself).
The same feature still exists in iOS 11, and it’s on by default.
The good news is you can disable it. This article will walk you through the steps to turn off the “Significant Locations” feature on your iPhone.
Delete iPhone Significant Locations
1. Open the app Settings
2. Tap Privacy
3. Then, select the very first option: Location Services. You’ll find Location Services turned ON by default and all the apps you allow to track your location.
4. Scroll all the way to the bottom and select System Services.
You’ll see a lot of system services that use your location for various built-in features. You can turn off the ones you think you don’t need. But for the purpose of this guide, jump to step #5.
5. Tap on Significant Locations. It might say Frequent Locations depending on what iOS version your iPhone has.
Apple understands how important these data are, so it requires your passcode, Touch ID, or Face ID to authenticate access. Once you’re in, you’ll see a list of all the frequent locations with the dates and time spent in those locations.
You may wonder if Apple is spying on you. According to the company, these data are end-to-end encrypted, and only you and your iPhone can access those data. Apple and third-party apps cannot access that information.
Keep in mind your iCloud backups do not include Significant Locations. Therefore, if you get a new iPhone, you’ll not be able to retrieve those data in case you want them.
6. At the bottom you’ll see a list of all the locations you’ve been. Tap Clear History to delete them all.
7. To turn Significant Locations off, swipe the slider to the left. If the icon is no longer green, your iPhone will stop tracking locations you frequently visit.
If you found this article helpful, please recommend and/or share it, so your friends can benefit from it too.