This is a 5-step strategy to know if someone blocked you on iMessage.
iMessage, one of the best messaging apps, allow iPhone users to keep in touch with family and friends. But there might be times when you run into issues and get no reply from your iMessages.
Then, you wonder if something is wrong with their phone because your iMessages were not delivered. Did they block your number? But how do you know if someone blocked you on iMessage?
This is exactly what you’ll learn in this article. A step-by-step guide with 5 actionable tips on how to tell if someone has blocked you on iMessage. We’ve got a lot to cover in this guide, so let’s get started.
Click the links above to jump to a specific section, or continue scrolling to learn who blocked you on iMessage.
How to know if someone blocked you on iMessage
Apple doesn’t let you know when someone blocked you on iMessage. Can you imagine getting a notification on your phone about someone blocking you on iMessage? Ouch! That surely would make matter worst. So, Apple let you figure this out yourself.
Luckily there’re many clues that can help you out. Read on to find out.
1. Check iMessage bubble color
iMessages normally appear in blue text bubbles (messages between Apple devices). If you’ve enabled “Send as SMS” on your iPhone, when iMessage is not available your messages will be sent as SMS. Keep in mind Carrier messaging rates may apply.
If you know someone has an iPhone and suddenly text messages between you and that person are green. This is a sign he or she has probably blocked you.
Perhaps the person doesn’t have cellular service or data connection or has iMessage turned off, so your iMessages fall back to SMS. We cannot be entirely sure, so we’re moving onto the next step.
2. Check iMessage delivery notification
When you send an iMessage, a “Delivered” message will appear below it that let you know the other person has received your message.
You may see a “Read Receipts” of your iMessages that let you know the other person has opened up the Messages app and tap on their conversation thread. But that option is not on by default. Unless the other person has turned it on, you’ll not get that tiny gray notification.
If you don’t see “Delivered” or “Read” notification appear within the iMessage conversation, then they may have blocked you. As mentioned above, their phone may be out of service or without a Wi-Fi connection.
Wait a few hours, or even a day, and try to text again and see what happens. If you still don’t see the status of your iMessages after multiple attempts they sure have blocked you.
Note: If the person you think has blocked you set his or her phone to “Do Not Disturb” mode, you’ll still get delivery notification.
3. Check iMessage status updates
We conducted a little experiment. We used two iPhones which one has blocked the other on iMessage. Then, we sent messages from the blocked iPhone before and after the block happened. Here’s what we found.
When checking the status of the previous messages before the block occurred, there’re delivery notifications such as “Delivered” or “Read” within the messages thread. All the messages the blocked iPhone have sent afterwards have no notifications. They just remained blue in the conversation thread.
As you can see from the above picture, the first message (in blue bubble) is an iMessage with a delivery notification below it (Delivered). We sent this message before the other number blocked us.
The following two messages (in green bubble) are SMS with notification indicating they were sent as “Text Message”. This is because the blocked number has enabled the “Send as SMS” feature on their phone.
If this wasn’t the case, there wouldn’t be any notification below the messages, and they would have been iMessages instead of SMS.
4. Call the person who blocked you
So you still got no answer from your texts, and there’s no delivery verification either. What to do next if you don’t want to text them. Try to call the person who you think may have blocked you.
We run a little experiment with a blocked number on iMessage. When calling from the blocked number, the phone would ring briefly (just one time). Then, the automated Voicemail system let us know the recipient is not available and took us straight to voicemail.
The blocker will get no notification about the blocked number’s call and voicemail. However, he or she will still receive the voicemail. It will appear in the “Blocked Messages” folder at the very bottom of their Voicemail list.
5. Turn off caller ID and call the blocker again
If you still have a doubt that they’ve blocked you, try to call the blocker while hiding your number. To make an anonymous call on your iPhone, add *67 before the ten digits number, then hit the call button.
You could also go to Settings > Phone > Show My Caller ID. Then, toggle off the button next to “Show My Caller ID” to hide your number when making phone calls. Depending on your carrier you may not have this option. So, you’d have to use *64 each time you want to hide your number.
If the phone rings two or more times, they’ve definitely blocked you. The receiving device will see “No Caller ID”. Obviously the blocker may not pick up the call. After all, most people don’t pick up unanimous calls nowadays.
Now that you’ve learned how to know if someone blocked you on iMessage, we’d suggest you to move on or speak to the person directly. Never harass him or her.
Whether that person was a friend or an ex, dust yourself off and move on. After all life goes on.
If you know other methods that we left out, please share with us in the comment section below.
If you found this article useful, please share it on your favorite social network, so your friends can enjoy it too.