This simple mistake has cost my friend all his iPhone contacts

Never use your work or school email for personal use because you don't own that email

iphone contacts missing

“iPhone contacts missing or disappearing” can be one the scariest thing that can happen to any iPhone user.

In fact, one of my colleagues at work desperately messaged me on Facebook Messenger that all his iPhone contacts have mysteriously gone missing. If that sounds familiar to you, this simple guide will help you bring back all your disappearing iPhone contacts names.

In my friend’s case, he had set up everything the way it should be. He had turned on “Contacts” in iCloud settings. So all his contacts should have been uploaded and stored in iCloud. He had also turned on “iCloud Backup”. Therefore, his iPhone was backing up every time he plugged in it to a power source with the screen locked and connected to a Wi-Fi network.

His last successful iCloud backup was last night. But, when we tried to restore its contacts from iCloud and iTunes backup, they weren’t there.

So what could possibly go wrong here?

Restoring the Missing iPhone Contacts

My friend has recently deleted one of his exchange email accounts that he’ll no longer use in the future. It turned out he was unknowingly syncing his iPhone contacts with that particular email. All he had to do was to add that email address back and turn on Contacts sync to restore his iPhone contacts.

iphone contacts missing names

If that was your case, after you got your contacts back before you delete that email account, make sure to set up another one as default. Or simply add a new one, and toggle on all the stuff that you need to sync with iCloud as shown in the image above.

In case this exchange account was from your employer or school–and you don’t have access to it anymore, you have lost your contacts for good. And there’s no way to get them back without access to that email.

The Takeaway

Never use your work or school email to sync your iPhone contacts. You don’t own that email, but they do. Once you finish school or leave your employer you won’t have access to that email anymore. And also, they have the right to monitor everything you do with their email and can revoke it at any time.

If you found this article helpful, please share and/or recommend it, so your friends can benefit from it too.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments