Gotechtor select and review products independently. When you purchase through our links, we may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Stop People From Swiping Through Your Pictures With This Little-Known Trick

Updated on
Fact checked and reviewed

Founder & Editor-in-Chief

Herby has a healthy obsession with all things technology, especially smartphones. He loves to rip things apart to see how they work. He is responsible for the editorial direction, strategy, and growth of Gotechtor.

Learn about Gotechtor

We all have those photos we wouldn’t want anybody to see.

Imagine handing your phone to a friend to show that funny picture of your dog. Before you know it, they start swiping left and right like crazy through your photos gallery.

Luckily, there’s one trick you can use to prevent people from swiping through your photos on your iPhone: “Guided Access.”

What Is Guided Access?

Guided Access is a feature on iPhones and iPads that keeps you focused by limiting your device to a single app.

It lets you control and customize which features within that app are accessible during a designated session.

Some of its notable features include:

  • Sleep/Wake Button: Turn off your device’s Sleep/Wake button.
  • Volume Buttons: Turn off the volume buttons on your device.
  • Motion: Prevent your device from responding to motion.
  • Keyboards: Turn off the keyboard so that it does not appear.
  • Touch: Disable the touch functionality of the screen.
  • Time Limits: Choose a time limit for your Guided Access session.

Guided Access is particularly useful in educational and productivity settings since it prevents distractions and ensures a more focused user experience.

But it can also help prevent nosy people from swiping to other photos when showing them a picture on your iPhone, as we’ll show you below.

Setting up Guided Access on an iPhone

Enabling Guided Access on your iPhone is just a couple of taps away.

Here’s how:

  • Open the “Settings” app.
  • Tap “Accessibility.”
  • Select “Guided Access.
  • Tap the toggle next to Guided Access to turn it on.
enable Guided Access on iPhone

The next step is to set a passcode or enable Touch ID or Face ID to end a Guided Access session.

  • Inside Guided Access settings, tap “Passcode Settings.”
  •  Tap on Set Guided Access Passcode to create your password.
  • You can create a passcode or enable Touch ID or Face ID, depending on your preference.

Once you initiate Guided Access, you’ll need to enter the passcode or authenticate using Face ID or Touch ID to turn it off.

Start a Guided Access Session

Here’s how to use Guided Access to protect your photos from prying eyes.

  • Open the “Photos” app.
  • Select the photo you want to show your friend.
  • Triple-click the side button on an iPhone X or later; triple-click the home button on an iPhone SE or any older iPhone with a Home button.
  • At the top right of the screen, tap “Start” to begin Guided Access.

Alternatively, you can start a guided access session with Siri. Open the Photos app, then say, “Turn on guided access.”

As you can see, you can still swipe left and right, as Guided Access still recognizes touch input. To disable touch input in Photos, triple-click the side button or Home button again.

After you enter your passcode, you’ll see an option button at the lower left-hand corner of your screen.

  • Tap Options
  • Toggle off Touch from the pop-up menu.
  • Then, tap Resume at the top right of the screen.
start Guided Access on iPhone

Now, your Photos app is locked down, no one can swipe through your photos without your consent.

End a Guided Access Session

When you’re ready to restore normal touchscreen capabilities and disable Guided Access, do any of the following:

  1. Use the Guided Access Passcode: Triple-click the side button or Home button (depending on your iPhone model) and enter the Guided Access passcode.
  2. Use Face ID: If your iPhone features Face ID, double-click the side button and then unlock using Face ID.
  3. Use Touch ID: For iPhones equipped with Touch ID, double-click the Home button and then unlock using Touch ID.

With this useful trick, you can hand your phone to someone to show them a single photo without worrying about them nosily swiping through your photo library.

Stuck in Guided Access

If you are unable to disable Guided Access for any reason, you can exit the Guided Access mode by performing a force restart on your iPhone.

There are different ways to do this, depending on whether your iPhone has a home button. For step-by-step instructions, here’s how to force restart your iPhone.

Finally, you can use iCloud.com from a computer to disable Guided Access. Log on to that site, select the Find My Phone option, and activate Lost Mode.

This forces the phone to return to the lock screen, just unlock it to get back in.

Wrap Up

Whether it is the eyes of a stranger or an overly curious friend, we want to keep the private data of our device private to us.

By using the Guided Access feature on your iPhone, you can be vigilant about privacy protection and ensure that your personal data remains private.

If you have any comments or questions, use the comment section below.

Founder & Editor-in-Chief

Herby has a healthy obsession with all things technology, especially smartphones. He loves to rip things apart to see how they work. He is responsible for the editorial direction, strategy, and growth of Gotechtor.

Herby Jasmin

's latest stories

Leave a Comment

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Please read and understand Gotechtor's community guidelines before participating. So be respectful and constructive and keep on topic.