If you were wondering what happens when you block a number on Android, this article will go into the details with you.
Look at some point you’ll find yourself in a situation where you have to use the block feature on your phone. Whether it’s an ex, complete strangers, or telemarketers, blocking someone is the best way to reclaim your peace of mind.
Now let’s find out what happens when you do so.
What happens when you block a number on Android?
First, we want to clear up any confusions you may have. The person you’ve blocked will never get any sort of official notification. Google respects your privacy and will not let the person knows that they’ve been blocked.
Simply put, when you block a number on your Android phone, the caller can no longer contact you. Phone calls do not ring through to your phone, they go directly to voicemail. However, the blocked caller would only hear your phone rings once before before being diverted to voicemail.
Regarding text messages, the blocked caller’s text messages won’t go through. They’ll never have a “Delivered” notification with timestamp. On your end, you’ll never receive their messages.
Now if it’s you that try to contact the blocked number, it’s a different story. Here’s what happens when you try to contact a blocked number on your Android phone.
You can still call and send text messages to the blocked number as you normally would. The recipient will receive your text messages and phone calls, but can’t call or message you. The block doesn’t go both ways, it’s one direction.